Good Samaritan Receives Trauma Center Verification

The trauma center at Good Samaritan has been verified as a Level III Trauma Center by the Verification Review Committee (VRC), an ad hoc committee of the Committee on Trauma (COT) of the American College of Surgeons (ACS). This achievement recognizes the trauma center’s dedication to providing optimal care for injured patients.

“We are extremely proud of our Emergency Services team and the entire organization on all of their hard work to receive this verification,” stated Rob McLin, President and CEO. “This achievement illustrates Good Samaritan’s commitment to providing our patients with the highest level of care. Residents throughout our service area should take comfort knowing that, should the need arise, we are trained to deliver the best trauma care.”

This verification means that Good Samaritan is the 4th Indiana Level III Trauma Center in the state and the only verified trauma center in the Wabash Valley. After years of active participation within the Indiana State Trauma Care Committee, Good Samaritan has helped to realize the organization’s goal to expand statewide care for injured patients as the 13th overall verified trauma center in the State of Indiana.

Established by the American College of Surgeons in 1987, COT’s Consultation/Verification Program for Hospitals promotes the development of trauma centers in which participants provide not only the hospital resources necessary for trauma care, but also the entire spectrum of care to address the needs of all injured patients. This spectrum encompasses the prehospital phase through the rehabilitation process.

Verified trauma centers must meet the essential criteria that ensure trauma care capability and institutional performance. As a Level III trauma Center, Good Samaritan must have:

  • 24-hour immediate coverage by ER physicians and the prompt availability of general surgeons and anesthesiologists.
  • A comprehensive quality assessment program.
  • Transfer agreements for patients requiring more comprehensive care at a Level I or Level II Trauma Center.
  • Back-up care for rural and community hospitals.
  • Continued education of the trauma team.
  • Be involved with prevention efforts and have active outreach programs.

The ACS Committee on Trauma’s verification provides confirmation that a trauma center has demonstrated its commitment to providing the highest quality trauma care for all injured patients. The actual establishment and the designation of trauma centers is the function of local, regional, or state health care systems agencies, such as the local emergency medical (EMS) authority.

There are five separate categories of verification in the COT’s program (Level I Trauma Center, Level II Trauma Center, Level III Trauma Center, Level I Pediatric Trauma Center and Level II Pediatric Trauma Center), each with specific criteria that must be met by a facility seeking that level of verification.

Categories: News